Vue du Domaine de Vénus.jpg

THE STORY

GENESIS

It all starts with a story of friendship. This kind of crazy idea, thrown around a glass: "What if we bought vines to make our wine together?" A few weeks later, everything was put in motion with the purchase of the first plots. As passionate and connoisseur oenophiles, the group of friends chose to settle in Roussillon, a region with great potential but rather unknown by most people. The ambition is great : to shape premium wines.
The Domaine de Vénus was created at the end of 2002 with the acquisition of the first plots. Very quickly, driven by the quality of its wines, the estate bought new plots on the magical terroir of Fenouillèdes, on the heights of the Agly Valley (Eagle Valley in Catalan). The whole vinyard spreads over 15 hectares at the time.

2015

The year 2015 marks an important turning point for Venus. Facing an increasing demand of the wines, the owners acquired an additional 15 hectares of vines, certified in organic farming, and then decided to convert the entire estate.
Today, the vinyard is built with more than 40 plots, all of different sizes and exposures, guaranteeing a great diversity.

IMG_20210830_080820.jpg

TODAY

The founders of Venus never forgot their original ambition: to produce the best wines possible. This is why, over the past four years, they focused the development of the winery on the terroir of Saint-Paul-de-Fenouillet, one of the highest altitude villages in the Côtes-du-Roussillon. This demanding terroir, where work and patience are essential, allows to produce wines marked with freshness, and strong aging potential.
Following the latest acquisitions and a few grubbing-ups, the estate now covers 34 hectares, of which 29 are in production.
All production has been certified organic farming since the end of 2018.
In 2019, the estate built a sales cellar in Maury, an authentic Fenouillèdes wine-growing village, right under the Cathar castles.

IMG_20210505_102540_edited.jpg

INSPIRATION

The philosophy of the partners of the winery is summed up by a famous formula by Leonardo da Vinci :

“Happiness comes to people where great wines are born”.

Our vision of a great Roussillon wine is based on 4 elements:

A terroir of freshness

An eco-friendly viticulture

Low-intervention vinification, with little extraction (generally a brief pumping over each day during fermentation)

Long aging in bottle in our cellars (4 to 5 years of aging)

Vue du Domaine de Vénus.jpg

L'HISTOIRE

GENÈSE

Tout commence par une histoire d’amitié. Ce genre d’idée un peu folle, que l’on lance autour d’un verre : « Et si nous achetions des vignes pour faire notre vin ensemble ? » Quelques semaines plus tard la machine est lancée. En oenophiles passionnés et connaisseurs, le groupe d’amis choisit de s’installer dans le Roussillon, un terroir à grand potentiel mais plutôt méconnu du grand public. L’ambition est grande : façonner de grands vins de terroir.
Le Domaine de Vénus est créé à la fin de l’année 2002 avec l’acquisition des premières parcelles. Très vite, porté par la qualité de ses vins, le domaine achète de nouvelles parcelles sur le terroir magique des Fenouillèdes, sur les hauteurs de la Vallée de l’Agly (Vallée de l’Aigle en catalan). Le domaine s’étend alors sur 15 hectares.

2015

L’année 2015 marque un tournant important pour Vénus. Forts de leur succès, les propriétaires font l’acquisition de 15 hectares supplémentaires de vignes, certifiées en agriculture biologique, et décident alors de convertir la totalité du domaine.
La propriété compte désormais plus de 40 parcelles, toutes de taille et d’exposition différentes ce qui en fait un domaine d’exception de part son originalité et son formidable éclectisme.

IMG_20210830_080820.jpg

AUJOURD'HUI

Les fondateurs de Vénus n’ont jamais perdu de vue leur ambition initiale : produire les meilleurs vins possibles. C’est pourquoi ces dernières années ils ont souhaité regrouper les parcelles autour de Saint-Paul-de-Fenouillet, l’un des plus hauts villages d’altitude des Côtes-du-Roussillon. Ce terroir exigeant, où travail et patience sont de mises, permet de produire des vins empreints de fraîcheur, à fort potentiel de garde.
A  la suite des dernières acquisitions et à quelques arrachages, le domaine s’étend aujourd’hui sur 34 hectares, dont 29 en production.
Toute la production est certifiée Agriculture biologique depuis fin 2018.
En 2019, le domaine a construit un caveau de vente à Maury, village viticole authentique des Fenouillèdes, au pied des châteaux cathares.

IMG_20210505_102540_edited.jpg

INSPIRATION

Le credo des associés du Domaine de Vénus tient sûrement une de ses sources d’inspiration d’une formule fameuse de Léonard de Vinci…

« Le bonheur vient aux hommes là où naissent les Grands Vins ».

Notre vision d’un grand vin du Roussillon repose sur 4 éléments :

Un terroir empreint de fraîcheur

Une viticulture respectueuse de l’environnement

Une vinification peu interventionniste, avec peu d’extraction (généralement un bref remontage chaque jour pendant les fermentations)

Un long élevage en bouteille dans nos chais (4 à 5 ans d’élevage)